New Minnesota Laws
Tenant Bill of Rights
New Laws You Need to Know!
(2010 Minnesota Laws, Chapter 315)
Beginning on August 1, 2010:
- If your rental home is foreclosed, you can live in your home for whichever is longer:
- as long as your lease allows
- for 90 days after the last day your landlord can pay back their debt and reclaim the home.
- If you pay your rent in cash, your landlord must give you a receipt. If you pay rent by money order, you can use its stub or a copy of it as proof that you paid.
- Landlords must give you criteria for their rental applications and look at applications one at a time and in the order received. Your application fee must be refunded if a landlord denies you housing for a reason that is not in their application criteria.
- If you lie on your rental application, you could be fined over $500.
- Landlords who do not divide utilities fairly have to refund you whichever is more:
- triple the damages to you
- If a landlord refuses to return your security deposit in bad faith, you can now get up to $500 in addition to double the security deposit.
- Landlords have to keep abandoned property for 28 days (no longer 60 days). If they throw out the property before 28 days are up, they have to pay you whichever is more:
- triple the damages
For leases starting after January 1, 2011:
- You cannot be charged more than 8% of your rent for late fees unless there is differing federal law – typically the case in Public, HUD, or RD housing (that could charge more or less).
Beginning on August 1, 2011 for new leases and August 1, 2012 for renewed leases:
- If the landlord’s lease allows them to get attorney fees for winning in court, so could you.
Please contact HOME Line if you would like hard copies of this information for distribution to Minnesota renters (on card-stock in bookmark format)